Happy Birthday!

To Ellen DeGeneres…52 today!…I don’t know where to begin on my love of Ellen…it started with some modest stand-up comedy on HBO, moved on to These Friends of Mine later renamed Ellen on ABC…then she came out!…via her sitcom and the world went into a tizzy…”The Puppy Episode” garnered record ratings and a Best Writing in a Comedy Series Emmy for Ellen…however, during this madness, Ellen disappointed me and probably a lot of my fellow ladies when she started dating actress and cerifiable nutbar, Anne Heche…I never saw their relationship as geniune…it was definitely indulgent as Heche directed her then girlfriend in the final vignette of HBO’s If These Walls Could Talk 2 in 2000…at that point, I didn’t really care for Ellen anymore…yes, she went on to star in another self-titled sitcom, The Ellen Show, for CBS, but it just didn’t have the goofiness of her original series…it did have Betty White!…then Ellen vanished for a while…oh sure, she hosted the Emmys, the Grammys, and she would eventually host the Oscars, but her ultimate comeback came in the form of her own talk show, and stay with me…The Ellen DeGeneres Show…the show has won a total of 25 Emmys…and DeGeneres continues to delight the masses, and me, with her rambling, yet clever sense of humor…in just a few weeks, Ellen will venture into new territory, as a judge on American Idol…I’m very excited, but maybe just a tad cynical…I don’t like it when hit shows, although Idol has not raked in its usual ratings at least the last two seasons, shakes things up…don’t even get me started on The L Word…all in all, Ellen will be great and I hope she’s able to completely embrace her new role as a critic aka normal music buying person on the judging panel…and I’m very glad Ellen finally settled down and got married to actress Portia de Rossi…they are uber-cute together…
Ah, sweet love…later!
2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

