Zombies Are Cool! (Non-Gay Post)

I love zombies!  I’ve always been a fan of the original Night of the Living Dead series, especially the original Dawn of the Dead which stars a bunch of no-name actors escaping zombies whilst holed up in a mall, classic.  The new AMC hit series The Walking Dead is basically the same, no-name actors, with the exception of Michael Rooker–and he’s only appeared in small doses so far, they are holed up in Atlanta in a department store, again, only briefly.  In short, I love this show!  I guess the blood and guts appeal to me, I love horror movies and I love the tension and high drama.  Sure, the same zombie problems exist.
1. Zombies, for some reason, can’t climb…although this theory has been put to the test with the third episode…I’ll leave you hanging, since I don’t want to be blamed for any spoilers! 
2. Zombies now don’t die automatically…yes, the head shot, either by bullet or by axe still works but The Walking Dead shows a torso-only zombie crawling around in the first episode, and she’s still hungry!  It’s the first time I’ve seen half a zombie still roaming around in any film or tv show, brilliant.
3. Zombies will eat ANYTHING…again, spoilers…animals…ewwww!
I would describe the series as The Stand meets Planet Terror with a dash of the original Dawn of the Dead thrown in.  It’s based on a graphic comic series by Robert Kirkman; and this graphic comic works, some don’t.  I’m just saying Watchmen, the movie, was terrible!  The Walking Dead is executive produced by Academy Award nominee, Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile).  I think it’s interesting the main character, Sheriff Rick Grimes, hails from Kentucky in the comic.  And the series was shot in Atlanta, the production design is very well executed. 
Sadly, there are only 3 episodes left in the first season.  There are 13 volumes of the comic, so a second season is on tap, maybe a third, if the material can be stretched.  And who knows, Kirkman may write more material since the reception and the reviews for the series have been positive so far. 
So, if you want to check out The Walking Dead, you can see the pilot episode at AMC’s website, if not, I believe AMC reruns the last few episodes before the new one airs at 9pm central…
*I realize this blog isn’t my normal fare, but I assure you, I will continue to sound off about all things gay in pop culture, I was just so excited about this show, that’s all.*
Leave a Reply

