Garbage…Where Art Thou?

Picture it, Nashville, the summer of 2002 and I’m attempting to see one of my favorite bands Garbage, even if it’s only for five minutes.  I really wish Nashville would bring back River Stages; it was awesome and they landed all kinds of top acts and quirky acts.  Alas, I could see Scottish flame and lead singer, Shirley Manson in all her glory.  She had just adopted a bleach blond shaved-head mohawk look, which you’ll see below.  So hot!  My little group attending the festival had split up and a friend and I decided we wanted a closer look at Garbage.  So we made our way toward the stage; I can’t even remember what songs they performed.  Here’s what I do remember.  At one point, a concert goer had unwisely chucked a water bottle at Manson.  Oh boy!  Well, she stopped the show and she was calling out her assailant by saying something to the effect of, “…these Navy Seals will fuck up your ass!…”  I think I fell in love with Shirley Manson just a little deeper that sultry day. 
So, what happened to Garbage?  They burst on the scene in 1995 and they continued to occupy their own corner on MTV, VH1, alternative, and pop radio for the next five or so years, and Shirley did some acting in that Terminator: Sarah Conner Chronicles show, I never saw it.  I love how this band looks.  Three ugly guys and a hot chick.  Not to discredit super producer Butch Vig, Duke Erikson, and Steve Marker, but did anyone really pay attention to them?  I hate to say this, but their debut album is probably my least favorite.  It wasn’t until I heard Version 2.0 and Beautiful Garbage, that I really started to dig the band.  Beautiful Garbage is my favorite.  Bleed Like Me, I own it, but I bet I only played it once.  And yes, they have a greatest hits collection, Absolute Garbage, but what about something new?  According to Wikipedia, Garbage began work on their fifth album last year, and they hope to get it released sometime this year, oh, and they will tour with the new album.  It makes me happy!  And so does this song and video, and Shirley:
Leave a Reply

