Levels of Sensitivity

It has been nearly a year since singer and former country music darling, Chely Wright came out of the closet.  I chose this picture, because after a joke that was made at Sunday night’s ACMs, I doubt you will see Wright back on that particular red carpet.  I first read about this Twitter war between Wright and ACM co-host, Blake Shelton, just today. The joke that was made was in reference to Jake Gyllenhaal’s break-up with Taylor Swift and Brokeback Mountain.  And that was the punchline to the joke, “…wasn’t he(Gyllenhaal) in Brokeback Mountain?”  I was live tweeting myself and I heard the joke; I didn’t flinch, because most jokes on award shows are corny, but I admit, this one got a huge laugh/reaction from the audience.  Earlier today, Wright admitted she was NOT watching the ACMs.  Of course, this isn’t the first time Shelton has baited Wright.  Not long after the singer came out, Shelton took to his Twitter and posted this:
And not long after that tweet, Wright’s friend and singerJann Arden, who wrote a song called “Insensitive”, fired back at Shelton. 
Wright has not tweeted anything about the ACMs joke, only to say she wanted to set the record straight that she wasn’t watching the show.  However, Shelton’s fans have weighed in and they have given the singer a pass…see what you think….
  1. “@TeamBiranda: Said it before, Saying it again. I’m a lesbian and you’re still funny.” Yeah!!! I love lesbians!!!! 
  2. “@ethanletter:please tell me you didn’t write that weak brokeback mountain line you said during the awards” Awe.. You’ll be ok little buddy. 

Leave a Reply

