I Love The Glee Project!

If you are having massive Glee withdrawals, fret no more, Oxygen’s The Glee Project is the fix to tide you over until this fall.  One sidebar, creator Ryan Murphy announced last week, when season 3 ends, he will graduate some of the cast members…yes, it’s happening.  The goal of The Glee Project isn’t necessarily to fill the impending void, but to give one of now 10 hopefuls a 7-episode arc next season.  I wasn’t planning on watching the show at first, it airs on Sunday nights, which for me, are booked solid; I really don’t know how I will go on after The Killing‘s unsatisfying season finale; will we ever know who killed Rosie Larsen? and better yet, will we even care by next March?!? 
First of all, if I didn’t love Ryan Murphy enough, I love him even more seeing his critiques on The Glee Project.  He reminds of one of my assistant band directors from high school (I love you Ketih Guier!) and he knows exactly what he wants for his hit show, characters!  I would say the majority of the competitors hit the nail right on the head.  You have the flamboyant male diva (Alex, and he’s sassy!, love him!), you have the regular diva (Lindsey, who the other girls hate!), you have an Irish dude (Damian, that’s really his name), you have the “Rock of Ages” wannabe (Samuel, dredlocks!), you have the nerdy, sensitive type (Cameron), and you have the WHITE big girl (Hannah, I’m rooting for her!)
Last, but not least, you have the short one, no, I mean really short, 4’9″ to be exact.  Meet 19-year-old Matheus Fernandes from Atlanta, GA.
Oh my goodness!  I admire him and I hope he makes it further in the competition.  I wish I could pull up the clip from this week when Murphy, after seeing Matheus and now departed competitor, Ellis Wylie, critique them, he said “…it’s like attack of the little cutie pies…”  I lost it!  Just some other primer, the competitors work with the entire Glee team to dance, sing, and to finally shoot a big group number and each week, a guest judge works individually with the winner of the “group sing in the band room” portion at the beginning.  At the end of each episode, the competitors perform Avril Lavigne’s “Keep Holding On” with the latest one not called back; it’s kind of cheesy.  However, please check out The Glee Project Sunday nights at 9E/8C on Oxygen.
Leave a Reply

