Happy Birthday M Televison! (Non-Gay Post)

I say “M” television, because that’s what the head honchos at the once-beloved network want you to believe in now, especially if you weren’t born before August 1, 1981. I know I’ve written about how MTV has changed, but let’s really think about this. I lived in an area (KY) where I was amazed when I turned it to channel 17 on our old dial box. 
 Yep, 17 (or maybe it was 16) was MTV, 20 was Nickelodeon–don’t even get me started on that one–and so on. We were all introduced to the mass array of music videos and that’s all there was: MUSIC VIDEOS! And the occasional news report, which really, they don’t do now either. Well, they do, but they don’t have “The Week in Rock” or Kurt Loder anymore. I read recently the network has brought back “120 Minutes” with a bald head I’m more than happy to see back as its host, Matt Pinfield. To be fair, MTV2 has brought back the alternative show. See? Even the original MTV can’t be bold and bring back an old-school show.  It has be a show about Jersey, Teen Moms, Made, and Lepers with Cell Phones.  However, there is a slight beacon of hope:
Uh, huh-huh-huh! Yep, Mike Judge is bringing back all-new episodes of “Beavis and Butt-head” in October. I don’t really see the network’s strategy, other than maybe they want to try and win back some of those familiar with the boys’ dumb-ass escapades OR they want to have Beavis and Butt-head watch clips of “Jersey Shore” and make them valid to today’s average teenager. Really? Yes, it’s happening.
I guess we/I can’t win with MTV, but at least we’ll die trying.
Leave a Reply

