My DVR Is Special And She’s(?) Busy!

Ah, a new season of fresh television programming; it’s music to my ears and it’s a feast for my eyes.  Yes, the picture above is the kind I possess, and I think I should name her/him.  I’ll get to thinking on it as I write.  
I already know I’ll have to resort some online viewing to watch every show I like.  The old Motorola is trusty, but she/he can only record two shows at the same time; and when you arrive at a night like Thursday, it’s a bitch to try and decide what to sacrifice for the “catch up online” crowd.  I won’t be able to post fancy graphs or charts but I will try and break down my weekly viewing schedule.  And I will point out a few new shows I think may be worth watching.
Although Sundays are not as crowded now, thanks to True Blood ending, I do have a few I can’t miss, namely the Fox “Animation Domination” line-up.  Say what you will but I still love The Simpsons, Family Guy, The Cleveland Show, and the fiercely underrated American Dad!  They may all be animated, but they are not for the youngsters and the humor is so inside joke and is so irreverent, I can’t turn away.  I became so obsessed with American Dad! I would stay up to watch nightly reruns on Cartoon Network.  Speaking of Cartoon Network:
 Early Cuyler and the gang are back in a brand new season of Squidbillies.  Now if you thought the Fox animated shows were weird, you ain’t seen nothing ’til you seen squids cooking meth and living in the mountains of North Georgia!  The episodes may only last 10 minutes, but they are worth every second.  (Sundays 10:45p C on Cartoon Network).
Now here’s the deal, I don’t watch Mad Men (which just netted its fourth-straight Emmy for Best Drama Series) yet I’m very interested in seeing another 1960s themed series:
I believe I’ll be able to fit Pan Am into my Sunday night schedule.  It’s getting better reviews than its NBC counterpart, The Playboy Club, and it looks very authentic.  Christina Ricci better deliver! (Sundays 9p C on ABC).  So, since The Great Food Truck Race on Food Network wraps up this Sunday, I should be good to go.
Mondays are where things start to get tricky.  I’m going to do my best to try and not miss Dancing With The StarsTEAM CHAZ!  I made a trip home this past Monday and since we only have one TV at home now, I made Mom and Dad watch it.  I get a break from TNT’s Rizzoli & Isles until it picks back up in November.  The A-List: New York will end soon, but then The A-List: Dallas premieres next month on LOGO.  And there’s the new, controversial season of The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, I know I’m missing something.  It’s the cable shows that will get you. 
Moving on to Tuesdays, I know I might sacrifice the Dancing With The Stars results show in favor of Glee of course (duh!) this show:
Zooey Deschanel’s new sitcom New Girl (Tuesdays 8pm C on Fox) has landed a cake lead-in (Glee, which it beat in the ratings this week?!?) and a good follow-up, season 2 of Raising HopeNew Girl is not resting all on the shoulders of Deschanel, her co-stars/roommates Max Greenfield, Jake Johnson, and Damon Wayans Jr (yes, son of that Damon Wayans) play great straight men.  And what Tuesday night wouldn’t be ba-nan-as without a new season of The Rachel Zoe Project; Rachel and Rodger are preparing for the birth of their first child, while as usual, Rachel works her fingers to the bone, only now she’s pregnant.  
Wednesdays may kill my DVR.  Not only does The X-Factor and Survivor both air at the same time, I have another new show to add:
I’m hoping Up All Night stays at 7p C on NBC.  I’ve read it might get moved around and of course, the show was re-tooled to accentuate Maya Rudolph’s role as an Oprah-like talk show hostess.  It’s just good to see Christina Applegate and Will Arnett back on primetime TV as once hard-partiers who now have a baby, hence the name.  I guess I can forgive Arnett for last season’s stinker, Running Wilde.  The show is produced by SNL eternal overlord Lorne Michaels and since 30 Rock won’t be returning until October?!, I expect the funny.   My first priority on Wednesday nights will almost always be the Emmy-winning Modern Family, I just hope it doesn’t run out of gas.  I also throw in Top Chef: Just Desserts to complicate things; I can’t miss them and a new Top Chef (Texas) will premiere in November.  WHEW!
Thursdays may drive me insane.  Apparently, The X-Factor results shows will be on which will trump The Big Bang Theory (watch it! especially now that it’s in syndication) and Parks and Recreation (Amy Poehler’s Emmy stunt for Lead Actress was genius).  As always, I’m as loyal to The Office (season 8) as any other fan would be; no turning the TV at 8pm.  I’m sad to report my first real sacrifice this season will more than likely be…Grey’s Anatomy.  I could catch up online I suppose, but is it worth it anymore?  I only watched for Callie and her many lesbian dramas anyway, yes I said it!  Now, instead of bawling over Meredith Grey’s lisp, I’ll be checking out this lady:
No, Maria Bello will never be Helen Mirren, but an American version of Prime Suspect sounds like it might hit the right notes.  And from all the promos/pictures I’ve seen, Bello dresses like this every week, SCORE! (Thursdays 9p C NBC)  
So what’s leftover, just a new season of Saturday Night Live, which debuts this weekend with Alec Baldwin hosting for a record 16th time with Radiohead as musical guests. 
**and yes, there will be a Project Runway live-ish recap posted in just a few hours, yes, I’m nuts!**
One thought on “My DVR Is Special And She’s(?) Busy!

Leave a Reply

