Faith Hill Returns To The CMAs With Serial Killer Hair

(people.com/wireimage)
For the first time in a couple of years, due to work, I missed most of the CMA Awards and I’m not happy about it.  However, I was able to catch the last 30 minutes and the last 30 minutes provided something scarier than American Horror Story (which was also on last night, still loving it!), Faith Hill’s hair!  Okay, Hill made her first appearance on the CMAs since 2006; she is trying to mount a comeback with a new single, “Come Home”, and she is expected to release a new album in early 2012.  I have to say I’m not impressed with the song, which I was told by a friend was originally recorded by One Republic with Sara Bareilles; I haven’t heard it but I will find it today.  Performing on the CMAs is always a challenge; I’ve noticed the sound/mics are not always the best, but Hill can’t blame the sound, she sounded rough.  And to top off her rough performance was that hair, does it look similar to this?
(wearysloth.com)
Charlize Theron’s Oscar-winning performance as serial killer Aileen Wurnos is the first picture that popped in my head when I got a good look at Faith’s hair.  Oh Lord.  By no means do I think Hill is ugly or do I think she’s a bad performer, but her styling on stage was a bit tragic. I mean the sheer shirt, really?  It reminded me of 90s Reba wear.  Of course, when I saw Hill’s red carpet look, I was a bit stunned:
 (people.com/wireimage)
Although she missed her mark (see the duct tape X?), she looked a 100% better here.  No, the hair didn’t change, but the dress was nice, very glamorous.  I just worry Hill won’t be able to make the kind of comeback we all want to see.  My fear is she’s already peaked; her peak was a little over 10 years ago when “Breathe” became a huge crossover single and the album of the same name sold nearly 10 million copies.  She hasn’t won a CMA Award herself since 2000, when she took home her only “Female Vocalist of the Year” award.  I guess I’m little cynical because I love the Faith before Breathe, when she was still blurring the lines of country and pop.  The pressure will be on for Hill to try and acheive that crossover status a la last night’s “Entertainer of the Year” winner Taylor Swift.  At 44, can she do it?  “Come Home” was released to radio yesterday; see what you think.
Leave a Reply

