President Obama Finally Supports Gay Marriage: Now What?

I’ve promised myself time and again I would not write a politically-themed post, because my views are very “middle of the road” or “iffy”, but President Obama’s announcement has forced me to take another look at what the impact will be six months from now. Is Obama now guaranteed a second term? That’s still up in the air, but his chances of getting my vote have increased and I’ve never been in a relationship long enough to even consider talk about getting married. Obama’s support of gay marriage has made gay Hollywood happy again. Yes, they were not happy with the President, but I’m sure they were planning on voting for him anyway.

But why is Obama doing this now? And more importantly, why did he not take a stand prior to Tuesday’s North Carolina vote to ban same-sex marriage? It’s a little ill-timed for me. I’ll be honest with you, I’ve lived in Kentucky my entire life, and, I will probably die here; my state voted to ban same-sex marriage in 2004, and believe me I begged my parents and my sister to vote no. I have no idea what they ended up doing. The day a Southern state votes in favor of gay marriage is the day I’ll run naked through the streets and I’ll be more than happy to do it. In other words, I’m used to the Southern/Bible Belt way of thinking, but does Obama change anyone’s mind in the South? Probably not. Being a forward-thinking person in a backward-thinking place is not a easy thing to deal with, but whether I live here or New York, I’ll always be a proud member of the LGBTQ nation.

Here’s the downside to the President’s announcement. There is no pending national referendum and I believe individual states still have the right to vote for or against an issue (see North Carolina). The scrutiny Obama will be under will now be at a fever pitch, especially since the election is getting closer and closer. So what did presumed Republican nominee Mitt Romney have to say? He’s not budging. And I doubt he will. Isn’t that they way it should be? Obama supports it, Romney doesn’t. It’s not brain surgery. Even if Romney was the Governor of Massachusetts, the first state to allow same-sex marriage. Gotcha! Moderation is a beautiful thing, but equality would be even better.

‘Nuff said

 

 

One thought on “President Obama Finally Supports Gay Marriage: Now What?

Leave a Reply

