Generation Beyond Y Are Not Goonies Fans?!?

I received a text this afternoon from my sister that troubled me. It said: “The kids at school have no appreciation for ‘The Goonies'”. You’ve got to be f-ing kidding me! My sister (born in 1981) is a high school teacher, so the kids she teaches were roughly born give or take a year, between 1994 and 1998. I’m part of Generation X, my sister? Generation Y. Now the Wikipedia definition states the Generation Y kids were born between 1980-1999, or before the new Millennium. However, Generation X kids may border on being born no later than 1982. This is all filler, but I’m getting to a point.

Is this blog a booty trap?

How can your average 15-year-old in 2012 NOT appreciate The Goonies? It’s Spielberg, it’s got kids cussing, it’s a fun adventure, it’s got the Truffle Shuffle, these kids today don’t know what they’re missing. When I saw it the first time, me and my friends had to sit in the front row at our local theater, not the big city one 20 miles away, the LOCAL theater. I guess I was not quite 10 when it was released. Hell, the stars were all in their teens-early 20s, except Jeff Cohen, who played Chunk. Though we were led to believe he was in high school, Cohen was 10 during the entire time of shooting. He fooled a lot of people.

Maybe the teens of today, when they’re not texting or iPodding, appreciate something more wholesome. Yeah, that theory doesn’t work either.

Destiny is her snake charmer name.

I guess I have no idea what kids are into. They still want to drive as soon as they turn 16 (in Kentucky), they might want jobs (HA!), and they get more action than I have in all of my adult life (pathetic!). Maybe it’s the whole ADHD craze. I’m pretty sure I’m that way, because I’ve never been able to sit still, but damnit, The Goonies held my full attention. I’m pretty sure these kids have rarely cracked a book. It’s sad I’m only now, at 36, catching up on all the reading I should have done when I was in school. Education is not important to Generation, on let’s call them Generation Z, as in Zip, Zilch, Zero, Zapata! and it’s why their minds can’t even handle the misadventures of a group of misfits or a catchy Cyndi Lauper soundtrack tune from 1985. Oh yeah, let’s see it! The long version!

GOONIES NEVER SAY DIE! Neither does “Rowdy” Roddy Piper…

3 thoughts on “Generation Beyond Y Are Not Goonies Fans?!?

  1. I dont know how a kid couldn’t like or know about goonies but I guess it’s not edgy enough for them

Leave a Reply

