Donna Summer Gets Bumped AGAIN, Attack Of The Catsuits, And P2 Wins American Idol

When I read who all was going to be performing with the American Idol finalists yesterday, I got very excited, and in the end, I fast forwarded through A LOT when I got home. I was most excited Kristin Chenoweth was going to join now runner-up Jessica Sanchez in a Donna Summer tribute. Well, I had totally forgotten about it, but then I realized, they probably cut it from the show. Seriously??? They hauled out John Fogerty for winner  Phillip Phillips, Chaka Khan (we’ll return to her in a moment) for the ladies, and Neil Diamond for the guys, but they CUT Donna Summer?!? I did some investigating, because I knew there had to be an explanation as to why the tribute medley didn’t happen. Several media outlets promoted Chenoweth’s appearance, but then I couldn’t find why we didn’t see her. I checked Chenoweth’s Twitter and I finally saw an answer:

Wrong again Uncle Nigel! Did he honestly forget that Summer was a guest judge and performed with the girls on the finale in Season 7? I’m more angry over this bump than I am the Billboard Music Awards bump. Not cool!

As far as what I did watch on the finale, there were some odd moments and one spectacular performance. First of all, Joshua Ledet had confessed his love for Season 3 winner Fantasia all season long, so, he got to do a duet with her. However, this is what Fantasia wore:

Someone’s late for her Catwoman audition! (Mark Davis/Getty Images)

Meow-what?!? Not only did Fantasia barely strut around in a catsuit that I’m pretty sure she found at drag queen rummage sale in North Carolina, but she donned a less than fabulous weave. I hate to say all of that distracted me from hearing if she could still sing. I hope Josh is happy now, and hopefully, he’s a little disappointed. All right, well, moving on, the female finalists sang a Chaka Khan medley, and I read she was going to be on the show, but I wasn’t ready for what she was wearing:

No words (John Shearer/Invision/AP)

Okay, two facts: 1. She is 59 and 2. She recently lost 60 pounds. Great news! And although Khan’s catsuit was far superior to Fantasia’s, I think she could have worn something different, like maybe a fitted dress. When Khan finally came out, she had to be literally carried down the steps by Idol’s on-stage dancing entourage. I was watching it with a friend and we couldn’t decide if there was a camel toe issue. I know the people at SPANX were very happy after Wednesday night.

The other odd moment for me was Season 5 finalist Ace Young proposing marriage to Season 3 runner-up Diana DeGarmo. The ways producers come up with filler for a two hour show is staggering. I mean no one cares. Congratulations, but it was filler.

The best performance of the night came when Jessica Sanchez was joined by Tony-winner Jennifer Holliday for a fierce rendition of Holliday’s Dreamgirls essential, “And I Am Telling You I’m Not Going”. Oh Lord, this was awesome! Here’s my problem, in my eyes, Holliday is the ONLY woman/diva who should ever sing that song. The evidence is when Holliday joined her Dreamgirls movie and Oscar-winning Effie White counterpart Jennifer Hudson on-stage in Atlanta three years ago…just watch and listen for the “Oh my Gods”. If this doesn’t give you the goosies, you are not a music fan.

I give props to Jessica for holding her own with Holliday who looked like she was trying to bite off Sanchez’s face on certain phrases. And when Sanchez took on the showstopper during the season, I knew she had a fair shot at making the finale and maybe winning. But NOOOOOO! The Vote for the Worst site guy/gal (no one knows) may take credit for the fifth straight “white guy with guitar” win, but Phillip Phillips did all by himself and he’s probably on his way for his much needed kidney surgery that could have possibly knocked him out of the finale altogether.

Seriously America, I’m in a lot of pain, but thanks. (Yahoo)

In less than two weeks, the auditions for season 12 will begin…yep, it will keep going and going and going and going, you get the point.

Leave a Reply

