A Video Tete A Tete, Vis A Vis, That Kind Of Thing

I was chatting with an old flame, er, good friend tonight and we got into this “one uppping” competition that came out of nowhere. Actually, I’m to blame, but I still don’t know exactly how. It started with a comment I made as I was listening to one of my Pandora stations. I told my friend that on one of my stations, Rihanna’s “Umbrella” always pops up, and I like “Umbrella” but it can be a little annoying after a while. I tend to skip a lot, and when I reach my skip limit, I get mad. Those are the pitfalls of not having a full subscription. Anyway, I skipped Rihanna and Cascada’s “Everytime We Touch” came on. I mentioned it, she made a comment comparable to “really?” and then I noticed in her next message was a YouTube link. This is what popped up:

What? Okay, a brief primer on t.A.T.u. The Russian pop/dance duo comprised of Lena Katina and Yulia Volkova started out as an independent act, then they got a deal with Interscope Records in 2001, and in 2003, their first English single, “All The Things She Said”, produced by The Buggles’ front man Trevor Horn, was released accompanied by that cryptic video. But the lesbian schoolgirl uniform image was all a sham, and soon t.A.T.u. was quickly pushed off the radar screen in America. However, their fake image was so popular, MTV bought into it and they booked the girls for what I still consider to be the BEST lip-synching/half-assed singing spectacle in the history of the MTV Movie Awards. So my one up was this:

Yes, I like that very much. Another quick story, the first time me and my friends went down to Nashville Pride in 2003, when we were killing time, I bought the t.A.T.u. CD and we listened to “Not Gonna Get Us” over and over. My friend was a little slow on her next one up, so I scoured YouTube for some more t.A.T.u. clips and I found this gem. Okay, it’s the same song, but it’s now 2009 and the girls are part of the Eurovision semi-finals interlude.

Um, what happened to the redhead? Did she not hear the Spice Girls broke-up? The other one obviously stayed in shape. The Russian Army Choir is a nice touch, since the girls were basically still lip-synching. Well my friend finally found her next entry:

Ah, The Murmurs “La Di Da” interlaced with video from a show I miss dearly, The L Word. Geez, how gay is this tete a tete going to get? Soon after this exchange, I had to shut down my laptop, but when I got home, I found another one-up from my friend, yeah, she skipped my turn!

Marilyn Manson’s cover of “Tainted Love” (I secretly abhor this song!) from the Not Another Teen Movie soundtrack. I think me and my friend are in desperate need of some special attention.

Now if I can just find my t.A.T.u. CD! And get to another Pride before I’m too old!

Leave a Reply

