A Recap Of This Week’s Significant Occurrences

I realize I haven’t written anything since Monday or Tuesday, so I thought I would offer up a rare recap blog of a week that was kind of crazy. And I’ll do my best to put it all in chronological order.

Sadly, the week started with the passing of a very important woman to the world of writing and directing…Nora Ephron.

All smiles! (TechCrunch/Flickr via Getty Images)

Ephron started out as a screenwriter and she would go on to direct and write or co-write eight major motion pictures, including Sleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail, This Is My Life, and Julie & Julia. She wrote the screenplay for When Harry Met Sally… and one of my favorites, My Blue Heaven. Confession, I hate You’ve Got Mail, and I don’t feel guilty about it. I really like Ephron’s directing debut, This Is My Life, about a single mom, played by Julie Kavner, who goes into stand-up comedy and her daughters help out with jokes. Ephron’s wit and reputation will be greatly missed not only in Hollywood, but all over the world.

Next up, the Supreme Court upheld the health care aka “Obamacare” mandate, however

charlesfettinger/Flickr

I try not to get into these political cat-fights, but this SCOTUS ruling will either help or greatly hurt Obama’s re-election chances in November. And with the oft chance Obama does not get re-elected, the mandate/tax is not scheduled to go into effect until 2014, it will be repealed immediately. Personally, I’m torn on this issue, because for over five years, I have been without health insurance, but on the other hand, I don’t want to see another tax taken out of my paycheck. The fight will continue to be fierce, so it all depends on what happens in November, moving on…

ukathletics.com

Yeah, six UK players, a record for one school, were drafted into the NBA on Wednesday night, with Anthony Davis, who trademarked his eyebrow this week, going 1st and teammate Michael Kidd-Gilchrist being drafted 2nd. Darius Miller, the last Cat to be drafted in the 2nd round, will join Davis in New Orleans. The Charlotte Bobcats, owned by Michael Jordan, will need MKG as they were actually the worst team this season, but New Orleans got the first pick. Total domination for the Cats next NBA season.

Then two items were making the net blow up on Friday….

What? (newsday.com/AP)

Katie Holmes blindsided Tom Cruise with plans to divorce, and, according to TMZ, Holmes is seeking sole custody of the couple’s daughter Suri. Frankly, I’m not surprised and of course all the conspiracy theories were out there. Katie saw Rock of Ages and that was it!, Cruise may or may not be gay, She was freed from the grasp of Scientology. The actress stands to gain mega bucks in the divorce settlement and hopefully, her career will be resurrected as it came to a dead stand still after she became the third Mrs. Cruise. In happier news…

CHRISTOPHER MACSURAK/Flickr

Adele revealed via her website, she is preggers with her first child!!! Oh and the Rolling in the (blank) jokes that peppered the web. I saw rolling in the diapers, rolling in the strollers, rolling in the breast pumps, etc. This is good news, because the singer deserves a nice long break.

And finally for shits and giggles, a segment featuring the hilarious Billy Eichner aired this week on CONAN. Watch as Eichner marvels at Madonna’s opening show in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Leave a Reply

