The PC Police Censor The Dukes’ General Lee!

“Never meanin’ no harm” (CJ Sorg/Flickr)

Sons and daughters! I express outrage over what I read yesterday. Although I can’t find an official statement from Warner Brothers, a hobby collector broke the news WB would be removing from its future toy General Lees… the Confederate Flag. Yes, iconic car will be sans Dixie starting January 1, 2013. I’ve seen a lot of outrageous political correctness, but this one takes the cake.

It has me thinking, “what’s next?” Just yesterday, Penn State, bless their hearts, announced Neil Diamond’s “Sweet Caroline” would no longer be played at home games due to the lyrics, “touching me, touching you” which I can understand, but how sensitive are we going to be? My mind is blown.

Bo and Luke Duke’s 1969 Dodge Charger is as iconic as the 80’s TV series itself. Confession time, I had a toy General Lee with Bo and Luke action figures when I was a kid. I’m sure they are long gone, but I’ll always remember that Charger darting down the dirt roads of Hazzard County, always outrunning Sheriff Roscoe P. Coltrane and the boys always had Waylon Jennings telling their stories. Just last summer, me, my 7-mo pregnant sister, and my brother-in-law walked blocks and blocks through Gatlinburg TN to Cooter’s, talk about un-PC. I kid. I’ve seen a General Lee many times and I still get giddy. Seriously.

Whether or not you agree with what the Confederate Flag stands for, it’s an enduring symbol of this country’s history. Even if Mississippi is the last state to keep the traditional representation on their state flag after other southern states evolved over the years, this symbol will never go away.

Just leave them Duke boys alone!

Leave a Reply

