What Was The Last Week Of August

I scribbled down a list yesterday of at least six subjects I wanted to touch on and I think I’m pleased. These won’t necessarily be in chronological order, but it’s all stuff that was talked about. Obviously, Clint Eastwood’s RNC “taking to an invisible Obama” was the most-talked about.

mashable.com

I’m still not sure what exactly went on. Was there a teleprompter? Who the hell thought of this? And did Eastwood’s imaginary scalding of the President hurt Mitt Romney’s chances at the White House? Honestly, I don’t think any faux pas at this point will help Romney; it just depends on what type of voter you are. Are you totally absorbed with every word the media spews on the election? or are you going to go on instinct? You have time and believe me, there will be missteps by both candidates to scrutinize. All I know is, Eastwood’s antics will be mocked at this week’s DNC. And scene!

While Vice Presidential candidate and Matthew Morrison doppleganger spoke to the delegates Wednesday night, no one was watching, they were watching this:

I was fully expecting Momma June to get up and ask “How YOU doin’?” It didn’t happen, but we were treated to June’s “forklift foot” and even though it was one of the most horrifying things I’ve ever seen (seriously, does she ever WASH her feet?) the toe looked like many I’ve seen on my Dad’s side of the family. Not impressed. Alas, I was watching Honey Boo Boo instead of Paul Ryan and so were millions of other Americans. Now, the conventions are usually lame, until the nominee speaks, and even though I bored to tears by Romney, it’s sad when a very important RNC is overshadowed by Alana and her fart face. Speaking of fart faces, here’s an unfortunately ill-timed shot of Tan Mom aka Patricia Krencil as she was roasted (bad choice of words) at a gay bar last week, oh and she was thrown out!

That chair was stained with more than tanning oil! (Getty Images/Andrew H. Walker)

On Friday, news broke that longtime American Idol judge Randy Jackson was demoted to a “mentor” role for the upcoming season. I called it! At this point, I really don’t care who will fill out the judges’ table, but I do care if Jimmy Iovine is bumped in favor of the Dawg. Let’s face it, Randy will be as useless as a mentor as he was as a judge. Lord help us!

“Come on dawg! I was in Journey for five minutes! (vh1.com)

On Saturday, Burt Bacharch’s longtime lyric collaborator Hal David passed away at 91. While Bacharach and David wrote many hits for Dionne Warwick, they composed some of the movies’ most famous tunes, including the Oscar-nominated theme song from 1966’s Alfie.

And finally, another YouTube gem was brought to my attention, Nick Pitera’s one-man Les Miserables medley. I was skeptical, but it’s really good, and it’s getting me more fired up for the new movie version coming out December 14th. Witness and sob!

If you scan YouTube, Pitera also has one-man performances of Phantom of the Opera, Newsies!, and a medley of Disney movie tunes. YOU GO GIRL!

Leave a Reply

