Skyfall–The Stuff That Happened This October First Week

Sometimes my brain hurts, not my head, my brain. Most nights I can’t sleep because I have about a billion thoughts running through my head from “what am I eating tomorrow?” to “What happened to Britney Spears’ face?”, I’m serious here. This past week was a biggie for pop culture and the state of the union. Although I won’t be able to cover everything, I think I’ve got a pretty good handle on the highlights. Let’s do this!

First, this picture of former third party Presidential candidate and billionaire H. Ross Perot:

“Now see here, I’m a G-man!” (upi.com)

Okay, the photo is six years old, but I find it humorously fascinating. USA Today recently interviewed Perot and basically, he’s not impressed with President Obama or Governor Romney. Imagine that. Plus, he’s not all that confident a third party candidate can shake things up anymore. He may be old, but he has a point. Roseanne Barr, who is running as a candidate for the “Peace & Freedom” party is on the ballot in only 3 states right now and I just discovered her running mate is…Cindy Sheehan, oh dear. And I find it interesting Barr is NOT on the ballot in the state where she makes her home now, Hawaii. Hey, every little bit counts. I salute you HRP!

A Hot Mess of a Debate and Romney Wants to cut PBS (Big Bird reference required).

“You son of a bitch, a Muppet?” (za.news.yahoo.com)

Ah, the Presidential Debates. The four, now three chances the country has left to decide who would be better at doing the President thing. Frankly, Wednesday night’s debate, to me, came off as a hot mess. God bless Jim Lehrer, he tried to set the time limits, he tried to get in a word edgewise, bless him. Romney came off as if he had chugged a case of 5 Hour Energy and Obama, sans teleprompter, was like “seriously bitch?” The President wasn’t at his strongest and the Governor pounced and he pounced hard. And Romney, who stated he would cut PBS, did it by evoking the name of one of the network’s most popular character’s, Big Bird, oh bitch, you made a big boo-boo there! When did educational television become so taboo? At least you have to give Romney credit, he outright said he would do it, that’s rare honesty. Next up, the VP debate in Danville, KY. No, I won’t be going. Security will be mega-tight. And pep up Barack!

The Maybe Made-Up Nicki Minaj/Mariah Carey American Idol feud.

This show needs all the help it can get, even if it’s at the expense of a false claim of violence. So, you may or may not have seen the video of Minaj losing it over Carey’s diva-tude. Oh, what the hell, let’s watch it again, courtesy of TMZ.

Even if this is all a publicity stunt as Minaj claims, it’s not good for viewers, who for some odd reason, still love the show. And then Mariah Carey told Barbara Walters that Minaj threatened to shoot her. Is Uncle Nigel really this desperate? I say yes. Of course the producers gloss over all of this by saying that this panel is the most “dynamic and passionate they’ve ever had.” Right. One of my friends said we may not see Minaj by the time the show airs in January. I say that’s a fair statement, or at least the producers will threaten to fire her and there’s go the publicity machine again. I’m over it.

The Lone Ranger trailer debuts to a less than stellar reception.

Bruckheimer, Gore Verbinski, Johnny Depp! How can this go wrong? And to be fair, this is the first trailer. But the first trailer is key. It’s too bad most of this one has way too much production logo nonsense. Eh, here it is.

The First Look At Courtney Stodden and Doug Hutchison on VH1’s Couples Therapy.

Unfortunately, I have to link to this clip, and I have no words. Click here!

Adele’s Bond Theme “Skyfall” Debuts…and it’s awesome!

Since the British mega-songstress is getting read for the birth of her first child, this may be the last new music we hear from her for a while and it’s really good. She’s left us in a good place. Enjoy.

The movie will hit theaters on November 9th.

Oh and the St. Louis Cardinals, dodging bottles and other drink receptacles, survived their Wild Card playoff against the Atlanta Braves and will now enter the Division series to face the team my brother-in-law roots for now, the Washington Nationals. So annoying. Red October is here!

 

 

Leave a Reply

