A Halloween Playlist: Gangham Style NOT Included!

One thing I love about Halloween is the music. Now I know you are thinking Halloween is about scary movies, costumes, and candy, all true and I love those things too. Quick fact, since I’ve always lived in an apartment, I never get trick or treaters, but I usually buy a bag of candy just to be on the safe side. In the end, no kiddos and I end up picking away at all the delicious fun size candy bars.

I ain’t afraid of no candy. (sirtheblog.com)

So what inspired this post? A Lady GaGa song; namely, “Bloody Mary”. Even though GaGa is not actively promoting her album, the Born This Way Ball is in full swing, and it will land stateside next year. YouTube has a host of clips from the tour and the “Bloody Mary” number is awesome. Plus, I’m obsessed with the song. It’s currently on repeat in my car. Check out the performance, it is a tad creepy and who is driving those things?

Okay, these are songs that may not necessarily be scary or have anything to do with Halloween, but see and hear what you think.

Bauhaus “Bela Lugosi’s Dead”

This video performance is featured in the 1983 modern day vampire flick The Hunger. It’s a pretty good movie by the way. It should be noted the original track is nearly 10 minutes long. Yes, the film stars David Bowie and Catherine Denuve. Well, and Susan Sarandon, but much later after this opening clip. Bela Lugosi played Dracula, vampires, it’s self-explanatory.

Kate Bush “Get Out of my House”

A radio listener told me years ago, Bush was inspired by the movie Poltergeist, however, when I re-examined the themes behind Bush’s 1982 album, The Dreaming, it’s revealed The Shining was the inspiration. Both of those are I consider to be two of the best scary movies around. Of course, Kate Bush is an acquired test (no pun intended) and this track is one I would point to if you wanted to listen to get a sense of who she is as an artist. I think she’s awesome, and she super quirky.

The Cranberries “Zombie”

Okay, “Zombie” is an example of a non-scary, non-Halloween song. The song is more of a political statement on the band’s home country IRA organization. It just happens to rock and the video is a little off-kilter, and is also political.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds “Red Right Hand”

Nick Cave is creepy and this song is creepy. It’s been used over and over in different shows and movies. The first time I think I heard it was in Scream, in the scene where it’s the day after Drew Barrymore has been cut from end to end. In fact, the song was also used in two Scream sequels. And Cave is Australian! I never knew that.

Kiss “God of Thunder”

True confession, this song DOES scare me! However, when you see it live, which I have, it’s not nearly as scary. When I was growing up, and I’ve probably written about this before, we had HBO and one of the most vivid images I remember seeing as a 3-year-old was Gene Simmons’ blood spewing act on a Kiss concert the cable network aired. KISS rules!

Motley Crue “You’re All I Need”

All right, here’s a song about a gruesome murder. Good times! And this video, which you’ll notice the picture is reversed, was banned from MTV. Why? I think murder had something to do with it. What’s even creepier, is the song is mid-tempo, tinged with Tommy Lee’s piano.

The Misfits “Die Die My Darling”

So more death, why not? Folks from my generation may be more familiar with Metallica’s version, and really, you could throw a dart and put any Misfits songs on this list. Hell, they even have a song called “Everyday is Halloween”, what could go wrong?

Rockwell “Somebody’s Watching Me”

I always found the video, though cheaply made, to be more creepy than the song. And not because Michael Jackson sang on the chorus. One hit wonder and instant schlock classic. Look out for those mailmen!

Rob Zombie “House of 1000 Corpses”

Again, this an instance of throw a dart, but thank God for Rob Zombie. Everyday is Halloween for this musician/director. Zombie’s next horror flick, The Lords of Salem, will hit theaters sometime next year.

Bernard Herrmann Psycho Sountrack Suite

Alfred Hitchcock broke the mold when he unleashed his 1960 thriller/horror film Psycho upon the world. It’s a film that almost didn’t see the light of day. It’s cool when the music score marries so well with the vibe of the story, and no one did it better than composer Bernard Herrmann, who would go on to score three more Hitchcock films. This is a must for your party or especially, your haunted house.

Have fun kiddies!

(coolchaser.com)

 

Leave a Reply

