My Mini Twitter War With A Carrie Underwood Fan

Okay, I get a few replies and retweets now and then but last night, one fan went a little ape shit on me. As you may or may not know, it was announced Friday that country mega-star Carrie Underwood would be starring as Maria von Trapp in a LIVE broadcast production of The Sound of Music for NBC which will air around next Christmas. Personally, I don’t really care, but I think it’s a great opportunity for Underwood who up until now has only one acting credit under her belt, for Soul Surfer. Plus, she sings, so this ought to work. However, we all know who played Maria and this actress’ performance is as iconic as one performance can get.

So you ask yourself, “why oh why ANOTHER remake?” It’s a question that never seems to be clearly answered. The only hope I have for the NBC production, Craig Zadan and Neil Meron are on board. They know a thing or two about producing a musical. Nevertheless, the flood gates opened on Twitter and I begin with the tweet I responded to, courtesy of the hilarious Billy Eichner followed by my response.

Funny? Maybe, it was funny or horrifying enough to be retweeted and favorited by Eichner, plus it was favorited by at least 3 other Billy followers. As you recall, The Sound of Music takes place during World War II  just as Austria is about to go under Nazi occupation. Sorry, no more spoilers!

This response was harmless and it was in the vein of humor Eichner was going for.

But then, out of nowhere, an avid Carrie fan started ranting.

Whoa! And then, he aimed his next tweet directly at me and I responded.

He had to have the last word.

I’m sure he didn’t meant to put an apostrophe on “show’s” but I didn’t pounce back. Oh and he also dragged actress Evan Rachel Wood into the argument and what she said was harmless, but…

I couldn’t find the her original tweet. She probably deleted it, but at least she stood up for herself. I know I sometimes write, tweet, speak before I think, but a lot of the time, my reactions are harmless. If Jeremy was a true fan, he wouldn’t have engaged in this explicit nonsense. And a sense of humor is a very good quality which he also doesn’t have. You can be serious about your idols, but you can also see the lampoon side of the coin. When Carrie Underwood gets roasted? Watch out for this guy! And climb every mountain.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

