Hoppa What The Hell?!? And John Travolta And Olivia Newton-John Give Us With Their First Christmas Video

Wooly worms? (amazon.com)

Wooly worms? (amazon.com)

December 5th, 2012 will go down as the day not one, but TWO bad videos went viral. First up, some high school students decided to capitalize on the seizure-inducing “Gangham Style” craze by creating the most, well, I’m not sure there are words to describe how bad this is. The irony? It was posted by a student who “hates” his school and he wanted to show the world just how bad and lame his school is. Joke or not, I would say mission accomplished….witness the bad singing and even worse dancing that is “Spartan High School Style”…hey, at least they have a bitchin’ Mac lab.

As soon as I was compelled to bleach my eyes out and poke holes in my ears, I found ANOTHER odd creation. This week saw the release of This Christmas a holiday album from old pals John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John. If the album cover isn’t scary enough, the duo has premiered their first video for the only original track from the album, “I Think You Might Like It”. The clip has been described by several outlets as “Grease-inspired”, okay, I’ll sort of buy that. The song was written by John Farrar, who wrote “Hopelessly Devoted to You”, “You’re the One That I Want”, you see where I’m going here? Unfortunately, I don’t think this track will catch fire quite like the Grease hits, but God bless him for trying. You’ll see cameos from: Travolta’s wife Kelly Preston and kids, his plane, and I don’t think ONJ had any special guests, which isn’t fair. And I think the quality of dancing here is just a shade above the kids of “Spartan High”…

On the upside, proceeds from This Christmas will go to ONJ’s charity, The Olivia Newton-John Cancer and Wellness Centre, and they will also go to Travolta’s charity, the Jett Travolta Foundation.

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

