Downton Abbey vs. Honey Boo Boo

Yes, it’s been way too long since I’ve written anything. I fully intended to write some sort of “best of 2012” blog, but after seeing those all over the internet, I decided to wait out the barrage. Meanwhile, I received a wonderful Christmas gift, a Kindle Fire HD. We gave Dad the regular one back on Father’s Day, and one day while Mom and I were shopping, she asked if I would like to have something like the Kindle, and I said, “of course!” I am hooked! One thing I’ve been doing with my new toy is catching up on the mania of Downton Abbey. Since I am in the midst of a free trial of unlimited streaming via Amazon, I gave in and I love this show.

Dowager Countess y'all!/Downton Abbey Facebook

Dowager Countess y’all!/Downton Abbey Facebook

I love pretty much any British show, although I’m more fond of the comedies. But on occasion, I’ll indulge in some Masterpiece Theater. I’m not sure what has made Downton Abbey so popular, but I would say it would have to do with two things: Dame Maggie Smith as the Dowager Countess and it’s an original story, not a remake. Okay, I guess it’s a little like another British drama which was recently remade, Upstairs, Downstairs, it’s just better, fresher.

Then there’s the 180…these people.

All thumbs/Honey Boo Boo Facebook

All thumbs/Honey Boo Boo Facebook

This coming Sunday, the British aristocracy will go head-to-head with Honey Boo Boo and her wacky-ass family as the first of several holidays specials will air, beginning with HOLLAween. Now if you watched CNN’s New Year’s Eve coverage with Anderson Cooper and Kathy “Crotch Kisser” Griffin, the family was beamed in briefly from Georgia and poor Honey Boo Boo, was she comatose???? It’s as if she was prompted to say “Happy New Year” and CNN cut her off when she finally got off a “You better redneckonize!” RUDE! And Kathy agreed. Mama June has dyed her hair blonde, I guess that’s what it’s supposed to be and we learn she’s scared of mayonnaise. Yeah Pumpkin, a “marranaise sammich”…oh, how I’ve missed the Thompsons.

So, will it be the beginning of Downton Abbey season 3 (PBS stations 9pE/8pC) Or Here Comes Honey Boo Boo: A Boo Halloween (TLC 9pE/8pC)???? Here’s my plan, DVR Honey Boo Boo and watch the Crawleys in their entirety.

quickmeme.com/buzzfeed.com

quickmeme.com/buzzfeed.com

Leave a Reply

