Bye Bye Pope Benedict And Those Wacky Grammys!

I’m sure you’ve already seen an extreme influx of Pope retirement jokes, but it’s true, Pope Benedict XVI will be the first pontiff to resign in almost 600 years on February 28th. And he just joined Twitter a few months ago. Too much pressure right there. Now do I care about the Pope? No. However, this news is a big deal considering Benedict had only served about eight years. The only Pope I ever knew before Benedict was John Paul II, and I totally watched his funeral. Wait, did I say I didn’t care? Okay, my joke on the situation, the Pope got tired of extending the warranty on the Pope Mobile. So if you are still thinking about what to give up for Lent, you just got served! Pope Mobile for life.

"Screw you guys, I'm going home!"

“Screw you guys, I’m going home!”

Moving on, I watched the Grammys in bits and pieces because it was a cluster fuck of a TV watching/recording night. At first, I planned to watch the Christmas episode of Here Comes Honey Boo Boo, but then I kept a watch on Twitter and I was missing some Grammy stuff, so I switched over during the commercial breaks. Finally, I said “screw it!” and I set my DVR to record the Thompson clan on a rerun. I had planned to DVR Downton Abbey all along because The Walking Dead returned last night, but I kept finding myself switching over to the Grammys when I could. I know the Oscars are on the 24th, so why not air the Grammys on the 17th? I don’t why I just thought that because I would’ve been faced with the exact same dilemma minus Honey Boo Boo. Everyone, whether they like a Frank Ocean or a Fun., has an opinion on the Grammys. I wish all these music fans would understand the Grammys are always horribly flawed. Sure, you’ll see the expected nominees i.e. Kelly Clarkson (won, but I hope she hires a stylist stat!), Adele (won, oh what the hell happened to her basic black look?), and yes, despite her manic, steam punk opening number, Taylor Swift did win a non-televised award for her The Hunger Games soundtrack collaboration with The Civil Wars in the category, “Best Song Written for Visual Media” ?????? I’m really over Taylor Swift, and while I’m at it, I don’t get the fascination with Mumford & Sons, who won Album of the Year for Babel. I understand pop music continues to change but I’m not a fan of a random group who probably won’t win anything next year. And although I’m sick of “Hey Ho”, I can tolerate The Lumineers. Call me fickle. While I’m on the subject of things I’m sick of…this photo from the ceremony…

We get it already!

We get it already!

My lesbian card may be revoked, but this was funny for about a minute, then it spread like wild fire, and I was sick of it after two hours. But I can’t wait to see what the One Million Moms have to say. My other observation, Portia de Rossi is SMOKIN’ HOT these days! Lord have mercy! And I’m sure we can all agree, this photobomb should’ve won something…

Yes! (cnn.com/getty images)

Yes! (cnn.com/getty images)

Now one moment I missed, was The Black Keys, who also won, performing with the Preservation Hall Jazz musicians from New Orleans and…Dr. John (also a winner!) in a get-up that would beat George Clinton on his best day…*watch this video asap since it will be yanked off YouTube soon!

Oh, and Ellen lost to a fellow sister, Janis Ian, in the Best Spoken Word Album category. And Carrie Underwood (won) wore some sort of hologram, projection screen dress. That was NOT a Grammy moment. The best moment I got to watch was a super group tribute to the late Levon Helm that included, Elton John, Mavis Staples (WERK!), Mumford & Sons (eh), Zac Brown (ZBB won!) Brittany Howard of Alabama Shakes (they were robbed!), and T. Bone Burnett. And of course they performed “The Weight”. And of course, I can’t find a video, legal or otherwise, of the performance. Damn! The other neat moment, Prince presented Record of the Year to Gotye for “Somebody That I Used To Know”, now that was a fair award situation. Maybe the Grammys aren’t so flawed after all.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

