Scott Stapp’s Failed Come To Jesus Moment

scott-stappIf you still follow what is going on with Creed’s various members, then this past week, you hit the jackpot my friend!

Here’s the partial video (the original has since been taken down) that lead singer Scott Stapp released this week. Did someone hit him in the face with an iron? It’s serious add-a-chin situation.

Okay then. It turns out the Creed front man was placed under an involuntary psychiatric hold earlier this month. Note the word involuntary. His wife, who seeking a divorce, wants the singer placed under a mandatory 60-day hold, since he trotted out and he apparently went on a drug binge. This is, of course, the latest in a barrage of legal troubles Stapp has landed in on and off since 2002. The singer also attempted suicide about ten years ago. Creed split up in 2005, then reunited for a new album and tour in 2009. A subsequent album and tour never came to fruition due to a “disagreement” between Stapp and guitarist Mark Tremonti.

If I hear a Creed song now, I can’t complain. I think they’re music still holds up and I’m not even talking about how all their songs were/are considered rock songs with a religious message. I know haters, like all those Nickelback haters, think Scott Stapp wanted to be a Jesus-like figure, preaching, yet rocking a many disciples’ faces off. All the rock music I hear now, the kind I would be playing if I still worked in rock radio, it doesn’t sound all that different. Rock music constantly morphs, yet, we have bands who still keep it simple. Now if there is a band with a similar Creed following, I have no idea who that band or solo artist is.

My point is, I’m worried about Stapp’s angular chin. It might poke someone’s eye out in the psychiatric ward.

 

 

Leave a Reply

